Welcome to Vegan

17 Jul

Hello ladies & gents,

As you may have noticed I’ve been absent again, and as much as I’d love to write a rambling ranty post for you – there has been so much that has pissed me off lately! -, I can’t.  I’ve been terribly busy.  But I’ll make time soon, I promise!  As for now, I wanted to write a post to launch the start of something pretty exciting…

As of today…

I’m a vegan! YAY!

For the month at least.

Okay, so since I’ve told people I planned on becoming a vegan, I’ve gotten one out of two responses.  People either a) look disgusted or b) laugh.  You can tell I have a really supportive network.  Just kidding, for the most part, my friends will laugh, but they’re supportive.  I have had a few people look disgusted, mostly because they don’t believe you can get protein elsewhere.

I even got into a debate with someone about a year ago who had taken a nutrition class and said their professor said there was no way someone could live a healthy dietary lifestyle without meat. First of all, this is what’s wrong with our education system, how do they let some people even get a degree? Secondly, right, because all of those vegetarians and vegans are dropping dead because of dietary concerns.  You know, I’m sure a very long time ago there weren’t very many vegan options and people weren’t as educated, but luckily there are so many options now.  And saying that you need meat to survive is ignorant.

Here’s something you need to understand about me, I prefer soy products as it is.  The only dairy products I regularly eat are eggs, and occasionally yogurt and ice cream.  As for meat products, I rarely eat red meats (probably once every two months or so) and will only eat chicken/turkey/fish once a week.  I eat all organic products for the sake of animal cruelty free, so buying those meat products isn’t exactly healthy for my bank account, which is why I stick to once a week.  Obviously, I don’t rely on dairy or meat, so making the choice to become vegan isn’t a massive sacrifice.  I think more than anything it’s getting in the habit of being more observant of what’s on the labels, and what choices there are when eating out.  What people don’t realize is that when grocery shopping there are tons of vegan choices that make it easy to make the switch.

Something else people don’t realize is how incredibly healthy a vegan lifestyle is.  I, myself, am making the choice for health reasons and not because of animal cruelty, though that just happens to be a bonus.  Over the last two months I’ve had two allergic reactions that have caused my face to swell up, though we’re not sure what’s causing them, and doctors have refused to give me allergy testing (don’t even get me started on how ridiculous this is). Through Google we discovered that eggs and other dairy products are huge allergens so my mom suggested cutting out eggs.  Because eggs are the largest non-vegan staple in my diet, I just kind of figured “why don’t I become a vegan?”.  And ta-da, here we are.  Well, it wasn’t quite like that.  I’ve had eczema for a long time now, and apparently a vegan lifestyle does wonders for your skin, and overall health in general.  I’ve said I’m only doing a trial run for a month, just to see how it goes, but I honestly can’t see myself switching back if there are positive results.  However, (and I know this is going to piss off actual vegans but…) I’m considering casually adding salmon back into my diet after the month.  This is because, as mentioned, I’m doing this for the sake of my health, and salmon has amazing health benefits.  So let that be a warning to anyone who wants to get on my case about not being fully committed.  I’m just trying to find the best way to eat for MY health and for MY morals, and that may even mean without a label.  As one of my friends pointed out, if I say I’m a vegan that’s because I don’t want someone putting non-vegan products on my plate, even if I don’t necessarily follow that lifestyle.

Anyway, all of that being said, starting today I’ll be fully committed for the month and I’ll most likely be sharing the experience and recipes via this blog so that’s why I wanted to let you guys know.  Obviously, this is my first time, but hopefully it will inspire some of you to try it out.  Or at least be more conscious of what you’re eating.  I’m always shocked at how many people don’t even understand the importance of eating organically, free range or wild.  For something that’s so essential, we really need to be better educated (and that doesn’t mean taking a nutrition class from a dumb a**) about what we consume.

Anyone who has any tips or recipes to share, please leave a comment.  I’m especially interested in hearing from any vegans with eczema (just because I know wheat and sugar are huge no-nos when you have eczema, yet they’re acceptable in a vegan diet).  Thank you!

Have a great day!

Leave a reply

