Support Art!

14 May

For those of you who have yet to read my post from last night/very early this morning, it’d be great if you guys could check that out right below (there’s a video and then a blog before that).  Thanks for your support!  

Moving along to other local artists…

Those of you who follow my twitter (@siarrahkane – don’t you want to know what goes on every second of my day?) may have noticed that I was at a craft fair this past weekend.  Many of you don’t know this, but I have absolutely zero talent when it comes to arts&crafts, seriously, you should see the homemade birthday cards I make for my friends.  So I have the utmost respect and jealousy towards anyone who can do anything of the nature.  There was so much talent at the fair and I’d like to take the opportunity to showcase some of what I saw so that if anyone is interested they may contact the artists.  You know I love to support locals and art, and you should too 🙂

Image

This ^ is Jaida and she’s only eleven.  I don’t think I’ve mentioned before that I’m a nanny/babysitter/caregiver…whatever you want to call it, but I am and Jaida happens to be one of the kids ImageI used to babysit.  Jaida not only happens to be extremely talented, and make some beautiful jewelry, but she also happens to be an incredible little entrepreneur.  She had amazing business cards, she was extremely organized and knew how to make a profit and she even had an employee with her!  She’s definitely the kind of girl who is going to be extremely successful at anything she puts her mind to.

 Image

Image

Image

If you see any pieces you like, you can email Jaida at jaidasjewelery@gmail.com.  Also, if you’d like something designed you can make a request (note this is at the discretion of the artist).  

Image

Image

Image

The gorgeous jewelry above was made by Gracifer; her designs range from having a Victorian feel to being a bit edgier or even a little quirky.  She sells her stuff online at www.etsy.com/shop/madebygracifer and her email is gracifer@hotmail.ca.    

Image

Image

The adorable handmade dolls above were made by Anne-Marie Belanger.  You have the choice of choosing one of her delightful dolls or asking for a unique doll made just for you either by selecting fabric out of Anne-Marie’s catalogue or sending her your own fabric. She has a terrific website at faitpourtoi.com, in which you can learn more and get in contact with her.   

Image

Image

Image

The beautiful jewelry above is one of a kind, handcrafted out of woven wire by Jordana of Style Art Studio.  Her designs are elegant and unique, and she also does custom orders.  You can reach make a purchase at www.StyleArtStudio.etsy.com or reach her at styleartstudio@live.ca

Image

After watching her daughter painfully teethe, Naomi (pictured above) began using baltic amber teething necklaces which immediately made a difference.  Easy Teethe provides a drug free alternative that actually shows results.  You can read more on Naomi’s website www.easyteethe.com and contact her via email at naomis_passion@hotmail.com or by phone at 604.258.8203.  

Image

Ninna is responsible for muckabout with clay n stuff, a source for her lead-free, dishwasher/microwave/oven-safe pottery.  You can see how much time and work goes into each beautiful piece and they’re perfect for just about anything, whether decoration, a source of organization or everyday kitchenware.  You can learn more at http://muckaboutpottery.weebly.com/ and you can contact Ninna via email at justninna@hotmail.com or by phone at 604.616.0024. 

Image

Whips and Lathers provides an array of incredible smelling luxury spa products.  As you can see from the picture above, everything looks incredible and you can tell creator Carol is very dedicated to her work.  Carol can be reached via email at whipsandlathers@yahoo.ca.  

 

Image

The adorable jewelry and accessories above are from Anniebuttons, a somewhat new designer who creates her pieces using all sorts of buttons.  I’ve got to say I loved the button bobby pins – so cute!  You can contact Anne via anniebuttons@hotmail.ca and at her website www.anniebuttons.webs.com.  

 

There were some more artists and talent, however I unfortunately don’t have contact information for them.  That being said, I’m just about done here.  I just wanted to say a quick thank you to all of the artists; I really do have a huge amount of respect and admiration for all that you do, and it was lovely to see such talent.  

Also, for those of you who keep up with this blog (Grandma!) you know these past two days I’ve been more into promoting than ranting, and yes, it’s terribly hard for me to lock up the sarcasm and hilarity (and modesty, clearly).  So I do have something prepared, you’ll just have to come back and see.  

Anyway, before I head out, I wanted to share one more artist with you.  Unfortunately I don’t have her contact information, however, I believe she attends many craft fairs so I can only hope to see her again and that you guys may have the opportunity to purchase some of her work.  

Image

The amazing paintings above were done by the extraordinary Rebecca Nosella.  Rebecca does a much better job telling her story than I do, so please read her story below.

Image

 

Thanks for reading! Please contact the artists & hope you all have had a wonderful day! 

Leave a reply

