Canadian Frame(lines)

14 May

 

Image

I think it’s about time I talk to you guys about my friends Alex and Ryder and the project they’re working on.  I’ve chosen today because it coincides beautifully with the launch of their amazing trailer – YAY!  The project called Canadian Frame(lines) is a year long trip across Canada beginning January 1st, 2013 in which Alex and Ryder will ask the question “What is Canadian identity?”.  I’m sure you have a few ideas on Canadian identity, but I think the question is harder than it seems.  At some point I had a typical answer put together in my head, but after assisting with some interviews asking the question, I realized how incredibly hard it is to define a country’s identity.  Usually countries are defined by their politics, and more commonly, by those who control the media.  I think Alex and Ryder were so tired of seeing Canada inaccurately portrayed in the media that they wanted to present real Canadians with the chance to define it for themselves.  

What’s beautiful is people won’t just answer the question, they’ll show you their answers via short films captured on super8 film.  The plan is for Alex and Ryder to drive their bus PET across Canada, stopping in the towns you may have never even heard of and teaching those interested how to use and develop super8 film.  With this new skill people will film their interpretation of Canadian identity.  They’re going to showcase the footage in that town at the end of each stay, and at returning home to Vancouver have a screening of all the accumulated footage.  The best part is regardless of where you live or get the chance to participate, you can still participate! Sound a bit contradictory?  Let me explain.  Alex and Ryder are going to continue making weekly updates while on their trip – they’re already making them now to keep everyone updated on pre-production! – so anyone interested will get a chance to see what’s going on and where they’re at in their journey.  And you can post your own videos and comments.  I was lucky enough to join this incredible project back in December and couldn’t be happier to know such a passionate, ambitious, determined, focused and talented pair.  This is so different from anything I’ve ever seen or heard of, and I know there’s going to be great success for the project.  It’s not too late for you to get involved and start supporting this project by following their twitter, liking the facebook pages, checking out their blog and of course telling your friends.  What are you waiting for? 

Caulfield White Productions Twitter (their production company) – http://twitter.com/#!/caulfieldwhite

Alex’s Twitter – http://twitter.com/#!/arcaulfield

Ryder’s Twitter – http://twitter.com/#!/ryderwhite

Caulfield White Productions Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/CaulfieldWhite

Canadian Frame(lines) Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/canadianframelines

Canadian Frame(lines) Web Page – http://www.canadianframelines.com/

Canadian Frame(lines) Youtube (find all of their weekly updates here!) – http://www.youtube.com/user/CanadianFramelines?ob=0

Also, postcards were printed yesterday (I think..) so if you live in Vancouver look for those around.  And wherever you live if you’d like some to pass on to friends, or do whatever with, I know Alex and Ryder are being very generous and sending them out to people if you just send them a quick message asking.  

I know Alex and Ryder would appreciate and love the support! And so would I.  We’re all responsible (myself included) for easily following victim to terrible blockbusters and idolizing the wrong people – a Kardashian is no Audrey Hepburn! – so I think we should take advantage of the opportunities in which we can promote people who stand for something better than that, and who have a real message to share.  Anyway, I’d really love for you to all watch Alex and Ryder’s official trailer so I’m going to post that quickly right after this, so I guess technically it will be up above…and you may have already watched.  

Thanks to Alex and Ryder for including me in this amazing project and being the wonderful people you are!  I’m so excited for everything to come, you guys deserve the best of the best 🙂

 

Thanks for your support, hope you have/had a wonderful day! 

Leave a reply

