The Real Housewives of Vancouver?

5 Mar

 

 

 

Image

I'm aware one of these women, is a brunette, but you get the point. Also, one of these women (second from the left) is Japanese.... Okay, I'm sure she's not lying, there's a 1/4 in there somewhere...

Gee whiz, I had quite a few things I considered (for lack of a better word) ranting about today. Take note, I refrained from saying ‘bitching’, because this is a family blog. Oops.  Anywho, I’ve decided to discuss – if you want to get all technical then this is most definitely a rant – the Real Housewives of Vancouver. Or as I’d like to call them the Beverly Hills-Looking-But-With-Blonder-Hair-And-More-Botox-Spa-Going-Holt-Renfrew-Shopping-Expensive-Liquore-Drinking-Heels-And-Velour-Wearing-Faux-Housewives-of-Vancouver.  In so few words, they do Beverly Hills better than the Beverly Hills Housewives.  Speaking of housewives, what even makes a housewife?  I grew up believing a housewife was a stay-at-home mom who cooked and cleaned and looked after her children.  I guess the term is used rather loosely now…

I’ve added in a photo to show you what I mean.  These women are blonde and botoxed.  And anyone who’s ever been to Vancouver would know that it is one of the most diverse cities on the planet.  I’m not over exaggerating when I say that.  Whites are probably a minority in Vancouver, especially bleach blonde ‘housewives’ types.  I have only ever met one woman who resembles anything close to the women selected for the Real Housewives of Vancouver, so based on that statistic, those women are rarer than a gunless Texan – yeah, I’m not Southern…  Anywho, you get the point and if you don’t you can read my lovely letter below addressed to whomever chose these ‘housewives’.

 

Dear Slice & Your “Housewives” Casting Agent,

  I don’t live in Atlanta, or New Jersey or Beverly Hills or whatever other cities you use for your Real Housewives show, so I can’t comment on the representation of the women.  Though, I’m sure you nailed the Beverly Hills one.  But I do live in Vancouver, BC and this cast of women you’ve chosen is ridiculous.  What an incredibly unfair representation of Vancouverites.  And I don’t just mean in terms of color; I mean at least a few women who don’t self tan in December, or highlight their hair every two weeks, or have fake breasts.  I mean seriously, don’t we get enough of those?!  I understand there’s a ‘housewife’ type you’re looking for, but I’m sure women who live off of their husband’s incomes and spend their days shopping, and drinking chardonnay at 11am while getting their hair and nails did, yet aren’t an Oompa Loompa Barbie mix do exist in Vancouver..I think.  I’m just guessing considering the only girls I’ve seen with bleach blonde hair in Vancouver are misguided teenagers.  And considering the success of Holt Renfrew, Vancouver has a large collection of the wealthy.  So where are all these wealthy blonde girls who aren’t still in high school?  I’ve come to the conclusion that you’ve hired these women to move out here from California and pose as Canadian girls.  How shocked they will be when they discover they’re a rarity out here.  In fact, our population is significantly East Indian and Chinese, and they also account for a large majority of the ballers out here.  I just think it would be nice to poke fun of the women of America (and now Canada) while still portraying an accurate depiction.  I mean, you’ve already inaccurately portrayed ‘housewives’ and you’ve made women look like crazy, self obsessed, gold digging nut jobs (prior to this series, this was a dirty little secret!), so let’s at least give the city you’re setting up in some credit and show what makes it different from being another Jersey Shore.  Jersey has its Oompas, Beverly Hills has its Barbies, Atlanta has its..uh…Nene.  And Vancouver should have its diversity.  Because who doesn’t like diversity?  Okay, I’m pretty sure the people who like your show are scared of diversity and may not even know how to spell the word – perhaps questionable – but I know the people of Vancouver would appreciate an accurate depiction of our city, and something that for most of us is one of our favorite things about the city.  If you don’t show what each individual city has to offer, then every housewives show will be the same…in short, what’s the point of going to all the trouble to make an identical show? Maybe it’s just me, but it’s a little disheartening that these women represent ‘housewives’, women, and Vancouver.

Sincerely,

your worst enemy, an opinionated women 😉

 

Okay, before I head off, I’d just like to let everyone know, I’m not necessarily judging these women or their lifestyle choices.  Lord knows I would love to shop all day, every day.  And tanning may not be my thing, but I was born with the natural shading that some seem to want to pay for, so what do I know?  It may not be my lifestyle or one that I would choose if offered – however, I’ve always said I’d make a wonderful trophy wife – but to each their own.

The point is, it’s not necessarily these women that I’m ranting to or judging, but rather the network and whoever cast these women.  If you take note, the letter is directed towards such, and not the cast itself.  I just wanted to point that out before being called a hypocrite for being anti-judgy and then posting this.  Nothing wrong with judging a network that devalues my city!

Next week we’ll discuss your modern day (seriously, for lack of a better word – sorry mom!) sluts. Stick around!

Have a great day!

Leave a reply

